What is NDIS?

What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a government-funded program in Australia that supports people with disabilities. The scheme was introduced in 2013 and aimed to provide eligible individuals with the necessary support and services to achieve their goals, live independently, and participate fully in their communities.

The NDIS is designed to be flexible and person-centred, meaning that each person's support needs are unique and tailored to their individual goals. The scheme provides funding for various supports and services, including assistive technology, home modifications, personal care, transport, therapy, and more.

Once a person is deemed eligible for the NDIS, they undergo an assessment to determine their support needs. The evaluation examines the person's current support network, goals, and the required services and supports. From there, a personalised plan is developed, outlining the person's goals and the support and services they will receive.

The NDIS is a significant government reform that aims to improve the lives of people with disabilities and their families. It gives individuals greater choice and control over the support and services they receive, enabling them to live more independent and fulfilling lives. The scheme also has the potential to create jobs and boost the economy by creating new businesses and employment opportunities in the disability sector.

What Types of Support Will Be Funded by the NDIS?

The NDIS provides three main types of support that are funded:

Core Supports: These supports are essential for everyday life and include personal care, accommodation, and transport. They are designed to help individuals maintain their independence and achieve their goals. Examples of core supports include:

  • Assistance with daily living tasks such as showering, dressing, and eating
  • Transport to and from medical appointments, work, or social activities
  • Help with household tasks such as cleaning, cooking, and laundry
  • Support with managing finances and budgeting
  • Help with communication and socialisation
  • Assistance with medication management

Capacity Building Supports: These supports help individuals build skills and independence to participate more fully in the community. They are focused on assisting individuals to achieve their long-term goals and aspirations. Examples of capacity-building supports include:

  • Support to developing social skills and making friends
  • Assistance with developing new skills, such as learning to use public transport
  • Support to access education and training opportunities
  • Help with finding and maintaining employment
  • Help to create and manage relationships
  • Help with setting and achieving personal goals

Capital Supports: These are one-time expenses designed to help individuals purchase the necessary equipment and modifications to live more independently. Examples of capital supports include:

  • Assistive technology such as mobility aids, communication devices, and hearing aids
  • Home modifications such as ramps, handrails, and bathroom modifications
  • Vehicle modifications such as wheelchair lifts and hand controls
  • Specialist equipment, such as hoists and hospital beds
  • It's important to note that the funded support types can vary depending on a person's needs and goals. The NDIS is designed to be flexible and person-centred, so the support and services provided are tailored to each person's unique circumstances.


Am I Eligible For The NDIS?

Are you or a loved one eligible for the NDIS? To qualify for the NDIS, you must meet the following criteria.

  • Australian citizen, permanent resident, or Protected Special Category Visa holder.
  • If you started receiving NDIS supports before you turned 65, you can continue to receive services and funding even after you’ve aged past 65. As another option, you can also choose whether you would like to access support through the Commonwealth Aged Care System.
  • Have a permanent disability or a condition that is likely to be permanent.
  • The disability significantly impacts the person's ability to perform everyday tasks and participate in the community.
  • The disability affects one or more of the following areas: communication, social interaction, learning, mobility, and self-care.
  • The person lives in an area where the NDIS is available.
  • The person meets the early intervention requirements if they are under 7.

If you are unsure whether you or a loved one are eligible for the NDIS or need assistance with the application process, our team of experienced NDIS Plan Managers can help. We can guide you through the process and ensure you receive the support you need to achieve your goals. Contact us today to learn more.